Every Goddamned Day…

Here’s the start of two stories from the AP site this morning:

DA: Mass. dad shoots 2 kids, 1 fatally, kills self
OXFORD, Mass. (AP) — A man who had recently separated from his wife shot his two children, killing his 7-year-old daughter, before committing suicide, prosecutors said….

3 shot dead in Pa.; girl taken, found safe in Ohio
QUINCY, Pa. (AP) — A Pennsylvania man confronting his estranged wife about custody arrangements for their daughter shot the woman to death and killed her boyfriend and his mother, then fled with the 4-year-old girl before the two were found about 250 miles away in Ohio, authorities said….

Yeah, let’s arm everybody like the Republicans and their whoremaster NRA want to do. That’ll make the country safe for women and children.

James Holmes doesn’t look so bad in light of the everyday slaughter in the United States. At least Holmes has the excuse of suffering a legitimate mental disease, if current reports are true.

But these stupid bastards who kill their wives and children? They’re inadequate assholes who haven’t got the guts to man up and face reality and deal with their problems like a man. Nope, they’ve got to have a gun to feel like they’re worth anything. They’ve got to kill something so they can feel they’re ‘a real man’. In fact, they’re pathetic and weak, the products of a culture of ignorance that worships celebrity, violence, and money while mouthing pieties about ‘family values’ and ‘God’.

That’s America, where guns substitute for brains, and bullets substitute for emotional intelligence.

Maybe the NRA needs a new motto. Instead of ‘Guns don’t kill people, people kill people’ they might want to consider ‘Guns don’t kill people, men with guns kill women and children’.

#

7 Responses

  1. How does a weapon readily available in Europe and the Americas for centuries cause crime? It doesn’t fire itself. Didn’t you used to ride a Triumph Bonneville?

    My Dad died riding a Moto Guzzi. More people die every in Europe riding bikes than from firearms related instances, I’m guessing that’s the same in America too. I still ride and so do my brothers and sister. My mother rode on the back of my uncle’s Ducati at the front of the funeral procession. My uncle repaired the bike my Dad died on and it now sit in his living room opposite my late Grandad’s Guzzi. My Dad didn’t die because of any mechanical failure, a lorry driver jack knifed into him. We can’t blame machines for what people do.

    Like

    • Hi Stefi. Long time no see.

      Not going to get into an argument with you. You clever trained lawyer, me civilian. You gun lover, me not. You smart and quick, me not so much. But I would point out that I did not say that guns cause crime.

      I rode a Triumph Tiger, a BSA 650, and a Triumph Daytona, at least until I had an argument with the front end of a car to which I was apparently invisible. Long time ago. Only one scar is left now.

      Like

      • No you didn’t, I’m sorry I read that into your post. But… why English bikes? Were they popular in America or did you just like them? I remember my Dad had a Triumph (my uncle might still have it in the garage) but he always preferred Italian bikes.

        Like

        • I suppose I could just as well say, ‘Why Italian bikes?’ 🙂 As I recall at the time the major companies were Triumph, Harley-Davidson, and Honda, in this country. HD had a bad reputation for reliability back then and I wasn’t keen on Honda. My friend Gene had a very nice Triumph, with a full fairing, that he wanted to sell, and that was my first bike. It was a dream to ride. That got stolen. Then a beat up BSA came my way, and it was affordable, and it got stolen. I put together the money for a new Triumph, the Daytona, and crashed it. Didn’t have enough money after that for a bike, and drifted away from that world in time. My friend Steve had a Ducati, but that was the only Italian bike I knew of then – heard of the others, but never saw one. Triumphs were popular back then. They were winning professional races, had a good rep, and there were dealers. But sometime in there they started having problems. They’re still active, I believe, but they no longer have the fearsome reputation they used to have. On the other hand I’ve been out of the game for so long that my judgment must be considered suspect in the matter. I’d probably prefer an old Triumph to the futuristic looking bikes of today. Just an old-fashioned old guy, I guess.

          Are you still in London or do you spend most of your time in Sicily?

          Like

          • Italian bikes because they were the best, highly desirable, could be purchased more cheaply in Italy than UK, and he didn’t have to pay any shipping costs (ahem smuggling ahem). My Uncle was a Ducati fan back in the early 90s when they just started winning WSBK but they weren’t that popular before then because although Paul Smart and Mike Hailwood won on them in the 70s, they weren’t that successful compared to other Italian marques like MV, Guzzi, Benelli etc.

            I didn’t mean British Bikes weren’t any good, I was just surprised you could get them because of oppressive export tariffs or maybe they didn’t exist when you were riding?

            In England, Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki and Kawasaki are more popular but Triumph is still going strong and compete in the Supersport category of WSBK with the Daytona 675. They make a full range of modern bikes too. Actually they still make the Bonneville, Thruxton and scrambler. Rob has recently bought a Guzzi V7 Stone, which is retro bike with modern components.

            We don’t have a place in London anymore we sold that and bought a place near Etna and a place in Switzerland. So now we stay in my Mama’s house in a town just outside London when we’re in England. I’m still living mainly in Sicily but travel a lot to Switzerland, Spain and England. I do a lot of driving.

            Like

            • I recall paying about $1100 for my last Triumph, the Daytona 500cc around 1970. I don’t know if there were tariffs in effect then. The price seemed reasonable at the time, though the bike didn’t have quite the speed of my previous Tiger. Both Trumps handled like a dream though.

              Steve really liked his Ducati, especially riding the back roads to Woods Hole, which were narrow, curvy, and hilly, and mostly running through wooded areas. I used to ride those roads as often as I could. Steve wiped out on an oil patch down there, but I don’t remember if the Ducati survived. Steve was okay.

              Sounds like there’s never a dull moment in your life, eh? Good for you. How near the volcano is your place (speaking of excitement)?

              Like

            • I know my Dad would have paid a lot less for his Triumph around the same time because he didn’t have that sort of money then but I don’t know what condition it was in. My Dad, uncle, and Grandad were good mechanics and in a motorcycle club so they could get Triumph parts very cheap. There was always something being fixed in our garage: bikes, cars, lawn mowers. My Dad had an old Fiat 500 in the garage he was fixing but Rob and Danny, who were about 10 at the time, got it running and decided to use as a getaway car for a bank robbery (they never lacked confidence). If they hadn’t stalled it halfway down the street who knows, they might have been the youngest blaggers in Europe. It might have been then that I decided to become a lawyer. 🙂

              Our place in Nicolosi is at the bottom of Etna. I imagine we would have plenty of warning but any eruption would destroy the place. We don’t live there we rent it out.

              Like

Leave a Reply

