Ah, Republicans! Thank You So Much…

 

image

 

Commentary on this at TPM.

23 Responses

  1. Republicans don’t really care about the deficit except to use it as an excuse to kill all things liberal.

    Like

    • Or possibly all things Republican… one can hope.

      Like

  2. Ah Ric I can’t wait till the RNC primaries are over and the fun can begin. It’s not like there’s a shortage of things to banter about, but tearing apart Presidential Debate snipits are way more appealing than talking about deficit reduction plans. Mostly as I drink waaay to much for math.

    Like

    • Yes. I forgot to spell check. I accept the pending grammatical flogging.

      Like

      • I haven’t had enough coffee yet to perform a proper flogging. And besides I can’t see any flogworthy errors – perhaps that’s a function of insufficient coffee. So you’re off the hook. Hie thee to a math book.

        Like

  3. The real tragedy to me is how thoroughly the Dems have failed in getting this message out there. They only talkk about why we shouldn’t cut spending and won’t even go near the revenue side.

    But on the bright side, the GOP Presidential debates is likely to horrify people who otherwise have’nt been paying a lot of attention. If they let enough of their clown wing into the conversation, it could be a fatal blow to the future of hte GOP.

    Like

    • …and no less than they deserve.

      Like

  4. Hey Ric. I’ve never asked. Where do you stand on third parties? I’ve always felt the DNC and RNC have become far too entrenched in party majority politics vs actually governing in any reasonable matter. Governing “for the people” seems to have become a lost art by all.

    Like

    • I’d love to see a legitimate multi-party system here. And three-month election seasons. And no corporate money in the political system. But by the time American governance comes to its senses, Washington, Boston, New York, Miami, and Los Angeles will be under water. Democracy cannot stand under the current political practices. It’s corrupt – ethically, morally, financially, intellectually – and it’s going to take either blood or water to cleanse it.

      Like

      • It saddens me that I agree with every word.,

        Like

      • I am shocked to say that this is actually the first time I’ve been ‘almost’ in full agreeement with you! My only disagreement would be it taking “blood” to cleanse. I think that route will only lead to national fracturing.

        Like

        • But which comes first, the fracture or the blood? I think we’ve got the fracture already, created by the adolescent imaginings of the Republicans that they know how to govern. Obviously they do not. They know only how to divide and tear down. They think that ‘governing’ means doing the bidding of their masters among the wealthy and the corporatocracy. They’ll bring both blood and water.

          Like

          • See this is were we diverge. I approach the issues as both of the self created two party system agents, DNC and RNC, perpetuate self preservation of themselves by current business as usual the hill. Here’s why. Issues change/mutate with society but each agent latches on to one side or the other and tells the public that the other is wrong, there’s is no middle ground on the “issue” and the other agent is wholly wrong no matter what. It can be any issue. I fail to accept that every position in governing must be an absolute right or wrong. If you and I were to be presented with a problem that “must be solved no matter what” even with polar opposite stances on fundamentals we would reach some form of action plan because we had to. What the DNC/RNC are doing is refusing to accept anything because they are locked in right/wrong black/white circular arguments pinned to them by their “party leaders” and never addressing the fact that if they can do nothing then it’s a pointless endeavor and they should quit theirs posts. That would allow for some adults to try their hand at governing. A third player could break the stalemate but that’s a long term multi-election cycle process. As for the fracturing I think the American public is far less so than the politicians. Do you refuse to talk to a neighbor or coworker because he/she is of an opposing political view? Now you have to discount any that are just plain d#cks of course. Those folks don’t count. I guarantee I could sit with you and have a few drinks and have some enjoyable debates. Heck, you may not even put me in the “d#ck” catagory at the end of the night. You won’t agree with me I’m sure but we could debate and discuss as civilized adults. The folks on the Hill just can’t seem to get past the taking points of their masters. I’m a Conservative, but I’ll be damned if I’m gonna let the RNC tell me what I think about anything just because they claim to carry the Conservative flag. But with that said Ric I raise my beer to you, Prost and to your Good Health.

            Like

  5. Rat:

    There’s a deeper problem. Democrats talk wonk and policy (I’m speaking generally here on all counts), and fail to communicate the complexity and depth of the issues and problems the country faces. Republicans talk in sound bites and lies because they know the people have neither the patience nor the ability to comprehend, accept, and work with and through the complexity of real issues and real problems. Both sides want to, yes, win elections. But Democrats also want to solve problems in the real world, while Republicans want to win elections. The press/media enables the Republicans and stymies the Democrats because the Republicans/Tea Partiers/et al present simplistic messages, which are either outright lies or lies by virtue of their simplicity and failure to account for complexity. (The visual media also do nothing to encourage critical thought or engagement with reality. They’re in sales, not in information.)

    I should note that I am speaking of the modern Republican party, in all its parts, not the traditional party.

    The current system allows us to, almost forces us, to pick the worst and least qualified people to serve in Congress, and in State legislatures. Our politicians trade sound bites and seldom, if ever, engage reality in full.

    It starts at the lowest levels of civic government. For example, my town has an ethos of ‘To get along, go along’. The results have been less than intelligent, and yet local government is the training ground for politicians.

    I favor serious testing of people who want to serve in public office. Intelligence testing, knowledge testing, critical thinking testing, and so on. And of course the other items I mentioned above. I would consider it a plus for a rigorous public service college degree to be required for public elective service. We can no longer afford a government filled with the likes of Inhofe and Barton and Boehner, owned and operated by the Koch brothers and their ilk, while wild-eyed ignoramuses like Palin and Bachmann and Santorum clamor for power.

    I’ll skip the drinks, but I’ll have coffee with you as we solve the problems of the universe. The booze just puts me to sleep. Getting old and cranky.

    Like

    • Thanks for the well though out and present response Ric. Sorry for the delay in responding. I was offline for a week taking care of extended family matters and just now getting caught up. Coffee it is, but if someone tries to put caramel, or other such nonsense, in it I may have to exercise my 2nd Amendment.

      Like

      • Isn’t that the amendment about well-organized caramelites, right?

        Like

        • I think it’s the “Zombie Hunting drunkards can kill people messing up their coffee with candy” amendment.

          Like

          • I must have been out the day they taught that one in civics class. Zombies huh? Those must have been the ones we called ‘stoners’ that sat in the back of the class and giggled if they were awake. So, you hunt them, eh?

            Like

      • You might find this amusing: The Americanization of Coffee

        Like

  6. 1. Great name. 2. I can relate. My wife orders the double blah blah mocha wuzit mundo etc…. at the bookstore. Here comes me “Large, i.e. normal large, black regular coffe with nothing in it.” They try, ohhhh how they try, to get me to expand myself. Nope. Frak that. I like my coffee like i like my women 🙂

    Like

    • You like your women large, black, regular, and devoid of content? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

