The Lion Gets 10,000 Views! Ooooh!

Well, The Lion just passed the ten thousand mark in blog views. Not sure how many actually read anything. Shouldn’t a prize be forthcoming?

When The Lion was twelve he was certain he wouldn’t live to see twenty-one. At twenty-one he was sure he wouldn’t reach thirty. Now here he is sinking into middle-decrepitude. He wonders if the same delusional thinking applies to blogging.

Could there be 20,000 in Grumpy Lion’s future? Do the prizes get better then? (A black hooded robe, full length, with a red A on it would be a nice gesture… or a girlfriend perhaps, twentyish, thirtyish, fortyish… maybe the full-size OED… or a motorcycle from The Lion’s glory days… so many choices, so little time before the economy crashes… )

Heavy sigh… followed by evil snicker in dark room lit only by the unearthly glow of a computer monitor… 

Technorati Tags:
12 Responses

  1. 10,001

    I came across your blog from Tales of an Ordinary Girl, I really liked your comment about evidence.

    No evidence likely means the thing claimed to exist doesn’t exist, and the thing claimed to not exist likely doesn’t exist.

    Do you mind if i use it on my blog?
    credit given, of course

    Like

  2. Congrats anyway. Wanna prize ? Oh, I dunno. Maybe an “all-day” sucker ?
    Hey, it’s only been two months since I hit it myself. Then again, I didn’t have a thousand hits my first year!
    So go see how your Technorati is building. If you want a hoot, use the ‘Reading Level’ and ‘Value’ widgets from Blue Girl Red State. Do avoid all her useless sidebar gimmicks as installations. Some won’t work in WordPress anyway.
    You might snaffle the visitor locator map widget – I have it – just for something to do. The price is right.

    Like

  3. What? No snarling? You should be snarling. Maybe do one of the MGM lion growls.

    Like

  4. Well, 10,000 views. Congratulations.

    You’ll have to ask Evo about that hooded robe, though. I think he’s in charge of our uniforms.

    Like

  5. Spanqy –
    Snarls? You want snarls and growls? Vicious prose isn’t enough anymore?

    It would be cool to have the thing open with an audible growl. Anyone know how to do that?

    Opit –
    I’ve sorely neglected all the technical stuff. I’ll take a look at Technorati. Someday I may even learn to dabble in CSS and get a theme that I really like. Something like the one I’ve got, same narrow text column with big heads, but with a sidebar.

    Ex –
    Does Evo give discounts?

    Like

  6. Ric:
    I think you get a free hooded robe as part of your membership.
    I’m the one responsible for collecting dues, so just make your check payable to me.

    Like

  7. Is that with or without the ‘The’?

    Like

  8. If you look at my place you’ll see I cropped a picture of my own for the header. That makes a big difference.
    I’m on my third blog layout – but have been concerned mostly with a ‘clean’ look that’s easy on the eyes. There are more layouts around than just on WordPress itself – though I’d have to run a search to find them.
    Widgets are the big trick that make things happen.
    Presentation>Widgets
    Drag and Drop
    Text : Drag into place and click on columns on right to get the programming field. I’m going to have to look around again to see what I need to activate right-click copy so as to paste in the field ( I’m sure my map had instructions from the supplier )

    Like

  9. I was playing around with the Journalism theme last night. It’s simple and clean, and I did figure out how to put an image into a text widget at the top of sidebar. The theme doesn’t allow for a header.

    I liked the theme, even found a way to narrow the text column using an empty rectangular blank that can be resized. But when I compared the text to the text on Day Dream I decided not to change. Day Dream’s text is compact vertically, while Journalism’s text has too much space between the lines and not enough between paragraphs.

    Day Dream’s compact and narrow text, making for easy reading, and Journalism’s really clean look would be close to ideal. I’d make the heads in J a little bigger and a different color than black.

    Went to Technorati and played around with it for a while, but found it kind of confusing. Maybe it was just that it was the end of the day.

    Like

  10. Sorry, that’s The Journalist, not Journalism. It’s new.

    Like

  11. I saved http://bloggersblurt.wordpress.com/2006/09/17/widget-wizardry/
    from my floundering around with widgets.
    http://bloggersblurt.wordpress.com/2006/05/25/perfect-template-where-are-you/
    was the first result of searching for templates : I know there are more around.
    Aha! Google ‘wordpress templates free’
    At Technorati you start at Home : Your Favorites and their recent posts are listed there. To go to your site, click on its name to get a listing of recent links people have made to your blog. You can also see who linked to them by clicking on the green, or go to the blog by clicking the URL.
    At Home, you have a cloud of topic tags,articles by genre and searches.
    For some of this stuff, Techmeme and Tailrank seem more convenient.

    Like

  12. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries
    that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a
    signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

